May 21, 1955 (Tangier)

24 januari 2007

Dear Jack (Kerouac),

Allen is all right and probably in Mexico City by now, en route to Frisco. Thank God he is OK, I don’t know what I would do without him. As always you go direct to basics of situation: “If I love Allen why do’n I return and live with him?” You are right. I will unless he can arrange to come here very soon. One basic fact I learned on this trip is how much I need the few friends I have. So far as companionship goes, I can’t live off the country. There are only a few people in the world I want to see.
As you know I picked up on Yoga many years ago. Tibetan Buddhism and Zen you should look into. Also Tao. Skip Confucius. He is sententious old bore. Most of his sayings are about on the “Confucius say” level.
My present orientation is diametrically opposed, therefore perhaps progression from Buddhism. I say we are here in Human Form to learn by the human hieroglyphs of love and suffering. There is no intensity of love or feeling that does not involve the risk of crippling hurt. It is a duty to take this risk, to love and feel without defense or reserve. I speak only for myself. Your needs may be different. However, I am dubious of the wisdom of sidestepping sex. Of Course woman have poison juices I always say.

What are you writing? I have been working on a novel. Enclose a dream routine derived from your dream of the iron racks and the tremendous, overcrowded cities of the future. This is definitely hope and along the lines of faith I have come by in last few months, a conversion like. I know that te forces of spontaneous, emergent Life are stronger than the forces of evil, repression and death, and that the forces of death will destroy themselves.

What’s new with Lucian (Carr)? I may see you in New York fairly soon. Enclose routine about purple assed baboons. And Tangier miscellanea.

Love,
Bill (Burroughs)

Eén reactie to “May 21, 1955 (Tangier)”

  1. kabababrubarta said

    Nice design! kabababrubarta

Geef een reactie

